Google Street View

I’m normally one of the first to get on my soapbox about breaches of the Data Protection Act/Directive, but with Google Street View I seem to be missing the point.

Why is everyone so upset by a collection of crowd scenes? If I told you I featured on 10 street views for the UK, and that each view where I feature gives away some personal information about me, could you find them? Of course not. In fact, I couldn’t even tell you if I appear on any of them.

Let’s get proper enforcement of what laws we have about personal data sorted out before we get precious about so-called invasions of privacy by applications such as Street View.

Andrew (first posted as an answer on LinkedIn)

Leave a Reply

